References
Our Solution Expertise
Ranging from stand-alone deliverables to long-term solutions – we have decades of experience and are a reliable partner to a wide range of customers.

Konrad Hornschuch AG – Maintenance Strategy

Plant availability and product quality are improving: This is achieved through a risk and cost-optimized maintenance strategy developed by InfraServ Gendorf Technik.

Initial Situation

Konrad Hornschuch AG, headquartered in Weißbach near Heilbronn, was experiencing difficulties with a plant for manufacturing synthetic leather: on the one hand, customers from the automobile industry had highest demands on quality and on-time delivery, on the other hand the linked plant had a tendency to malfunction, and the reject rate was relatively high. In view of these difficulties, Konrad Hornschuch, retained InfraServ Gendorf Technik (ISGT) to systematically optimize the maintenance approach.

Solution

After analyzing the maintenance and inspection schedules, the downtime and maintenance costs, ISGT initially brought together all teams at Konrad Hornschuch that worked on the plant. ISGT conducted a workshop to develop a comprehensive list of significant weaknesses and identified the root causes during a physical inspection.
Equipped with this baseline information, the ISGT experts then conducted a systematic risk analysis to identify the next steps toward an optimized maintenance strategy. This methodology (RCM – Reliability Centered Maintenance) involves determining the risk for a malfunction for every technical location, and using this baseline to decide how each risk should be addressed. Is it sufficient to have a spare part in stock and to replace the wear part after it has failed? Or is it better to replace the part in fixed intervals, therefore preventing failures in the first place? The correct answer to these questions calls for an assessment of the direct maintenance costs versus the consequences of a malfunction for each technical location.
The recommendations made by ISGT were designed to increase the share of preventive maintenance activities, to focus the plant inspection on two dates during the year, and to eliminate all unscheduled downtime between these with updated maintenance and inspection schedules. To accomplish this, the ISGT maintenance practitioners developed a series of optimization activities that partially achieved significant results with simple means. For instance, ISGT engineers determined that an unsuited lubricant was used on the chain drives for the large rollers. By using an adhesion chain oil, product contamination due to dripping oil was completely eliminated. This individual measure alone had the result of significantly reducing the reject rate as well as downtime.

Result

Implementing the maintenance strategy and optimization measures recommend by ISGT can reduce annual downtime by as much as 30 percent. Christian Wrubel, Head of Maintenance at Konrad Hornschuch, about the project success:

"After completing the RCM project, we are much more aware of the real problems of our mission-critical plants, and, more importantly, we have a much better understanding of the risks. The proposed action plans have made our maintenance activities much more efficient, specifically with respect to avoiding malfunctions. Wirth InfraServ Gendorf Technik, we had a partner, which speaks the language of supervisors and engineers, because the company also maintains its own plants. This has greatly simplified the collaboration."

Ob Einzelleistungen oder langfristige Lösungen – wir verfügen über jahrzehntelange Erfahrung und sind verlässlicher Partner zahlreicher Kunden.

Konrad Hornschuch AG –Instandhaltungsstrategie

Die Verfügbarkeit der Anlage und die Qualität der Produkte steigen: Dies gelingt mit einer risiko- und kostenoptimalen Instandhaltungsstrategie der InfraServ Gendorf Technik.

Ausgangssituation

Eine Anlage zur Herstellung von Kunstleder bereitete dem Unternehmen Konrad Hornschuch AG mit Sitz in Weißbach bei Heilbronn Sorgen: Auf der einen Seite hatten die Abnehmer aus der Automobilindustrie höchste Erwartungen an Qualität und Liefertreue. Auf der anderen Seite war die verkettete Anlage störanfällig und die Ausschussquote relativ hoch. Vor diesem Hintergrund holte Konrad Hornschuch InfraServ Gendorf Technik (ISGT) an Bord, um die Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen systematisch zu optimieren.

Lösung

Nach einer Analyse der vorhandenen Wartungs- und Inspektionspläne, der Ausfallzeiten und Instandhaltungskosten, brachte ISGT zunächst alle Teams bei Konrad Hornschuch zusammen, die mit der Anlage zu tun haben: In einem Workshop arbeitete ISGT die wesentlichen Schwachstellen der Anlage heraus und ging ihnen anschließend bei einer Begehung auf den Grund.
Diese Informationsbasis nutzen die Experten der ISGT für eine systematische Risikoanalyse, um daraus im nächsten Schritt die optimale Instandhaltungsstrategie abzuleiten. Bei dieser Methodik (RCM – Reliability Centered Maintenance) geht es darum, für jeden technischen Platz das Risiko eines Fehlers zu ermitteln und auf dieser Basis zu entscheiden, wie in jedem einzelnen Fall mit diesem Risiko umzugehen ist: Reicht es aus, ein Ersatzteil vorrätig zu haben und das Verschleißteil auszutauschen, wenn es ausfällt? Oder sollte es besser in festen Intervallen ausgewechselt werden, damit es erst gar nicht erst zu einem Defekt kommt? Für die richtige Antwort auf diese Fragen braucht es für jeden einzelnen technischen Platz eine Abwägung zwischen direkten Instandhaltungskosten und den Konsequenzen einer Störung.
Die Empfehlung von ISGT sah vor, den Anteil vorbeugender Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen zu erhöhen, die Revision der Anlage auf zwei Termine im Jahr zu konzentrieren und mit überarbeiteten Wartungs- und Inspektionsplänen dafür zu sorgen, dass es dazwischen keine ungeplanten Ausfallzeiten mehr gibt. Um dies zu ermöglichen, erarbeiteten die Instandhaltungspraktiker von ISGT eine ganze Reihe von Optimierungsmaßnahmen, die teils mit einfachsten Mitteln große Ergebnisse erzielten. Beispielsweise stellten die ISGT-Techniker fest, dass bei dem Kettenantrieb der großen Walzen ein ungeeignetes Schmiermittel zum Einsatz kam. Durch ein Kettenhaftöl konnte die Verunreinigung der Produkte durch herabtropfendes Öl auf null reduziert werden. Allein durch diese Einzelmaßnahme wurde sowohl die Ausschussquote als auch die Ausfallzeit erheblich gesenkt.

Ergebnis

Durch eine Umsetzung der von ISGT empfohlenen Instandhaltungsstrategie und Optimierungsmaßnahmen ist es möglich,  die Stillstandszeiten pro Jahr um bis zu 30 Prozent zu senken. Christian Wrubel, Head of Maintenance bei Konrad Hornschuch, zum Projekterfolg:
„Nach Abschluss des RCM-Projekts kennen wir die wirklichen Probleme unserer Schlüsselanlagen viel genauer, vor allem haben wir jetzt die Risiken besser auf dem Radar. Mit den vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen ist unsere Instandhaltung effizienter geworden, gerade wenn es um die Vermeidung von Fehlern geht. Mit InfraServ Gendorf Technik hatten wir einen Partner, der die Sprache von Meistern und Technikern kennt, weil das Unternehmen auch selbst Anlagen instandhält. Das hat die Zusammenarbeit sehr vereinfacht.“